Michael R. Hsing co-founded MPS and has served as the CEO and Chairman of the Board since the inception of the company in 1997. Prior to that, he was a Senior Silicon Technology Developer at several analog IC companies, where he developed and patented key technologies which set a new standard in the Power Electronics industry. In the early part of his career, he believed as silicon technology and fab equipments evolved, many DC to DC converters would be integrated into one small package, plug-in-play solutions which would greatly enhance system performance and eliminate most of the iterative design efforts. 

In November 1997, Michael and Jim Moyer a brilliant IC Design Engineer founded the company under the name Monolithic Power Systems, Inc. to realize Michael’s vision of building a power system on a single chip. Michael created groundbreaking enabling technologies called BCD in a CMOS foundry. Six months later, in May of 1998 Paul Ueunten, another industry veteran from National Semiconductor (who later became the Sr. VP of Design) saw Michael’s vision and jumped ship to join MPS. The first product was a fully integrated chip for powering CCFL backlight in Notebooks. The product substantially reduced the total solution cost, design complexity and improved the power conversion significantly. As a result, this product stormed the laptop market by taking 40% market share in 2003 and 80% in 2005. 

Under Michael’s leadership, MPS continued to successfully execute his vision. The company immediately diversified into DC-DC products, which again reset the industry standard. Then in November 2004, Michael took the Company IPO. Since then, the company has grown to 5 product lines with more than 500 products and thousands of customers. In 2013, Michael fulfilled his vision; MPS introduced an industry first – a cost effective Monolithic Power Module that truly integrates the entire power system on a single package. This enters a new era of power management.

Today with 16 years of nonstop innovation, MPS is pushing the technology to an unprecedented level: 1200 volts and 80A current with the 5th generation BCD. MPS continues to lead the power semiconductor industry.

Meera P. Rao has served as our Chief Financial Officer since January 2011. Ms. Rao joined us in January 2009 and served as our Vice President of Finance and Corporate Controller. Prior to joining MPS, she was the principal in her own consulting practice, working with various semiconductor companies, including MPS, where she set up our business operations in Chengdu, China in 2006. Ms. Rao has more than 20 years of experience with semiconductor and high technology companies and has held various senior executive positions, including the CFO of Integration Associates, Vice President of Finance and Interim CFO at Atrica, Vice President of Finance at Raza Foundries, Corporate Controller and Interim CFO at nVIDIA, as well as various positions at Advanced Micro Devices (AMD). Ms. Rao is a CPA and holds an MBA from the University of Rochester.
Maurice Sciammas currently serves as our Senior Vice President of Worldwide Sales and Marketing. Mr. Sciammas joined the Company in July 1999 and served as Vice President of Products and Vice President of Sales (excluding greater China) until he was appointed to his current position. Before joining the Company, he was Director of IC Products at Supertex from 1990 to 1999. He has also held positions at Micrel, Inc. He holds a B.S.E.E. degree from San Jose State University.
Deming Xiao has served as our President of MPS Asia Operations since January 2008. Since joining us in May 2001, Mr. Xiao held several executive positions, including Foundry Manager and Senior Vice President of Operations. Before joining us, from June 2000 to May 2001, Mr. Xiao was Engineering Account Manager at Chartered Semiconductor Manufacturing, Inc. Prior to that, Mr. Xiao spent 6 years as the Manager of Process Integration Engineering at Fairchild Imaging Sensors. Mr. Xiao holds a B.S. in Semiconductor Physics from Sichuan University, Chengdu, China and an M.S.E.E. from Wayne State University.

Saria Tseng has served as our Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary since 2004 and additionally as our Vice President, Strategic Corporate Development since 2009. Ms. Tseng joined the Company from MaXXan Systems, Inc., where she was also Vice President and General Counsel from 2001 to 2004. Previously, Ms. Tseng was an attorney at Gray Cary Ware & Freidenrich, LLP and Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue. Ms. Tseng is a member of the state bar in both California and New York and is a member of the bar association of the Republic of China (Taiwan). She holds Masters of Law degrees from the University of California at Berkeley and the Chinese Culture University in Taipei.